al aria

A project by Gertrud Fischbacher and Marius Schebella.

al aria

Symphony No. 17 in G major, KV 129
Idea and concept: Gertrud Fischbacher and Marius Schebella

 

The room installation is an interdisciplinary, interpretative research on Mozart’s Symphony No. 17 in G major (KV 129).

The room is divided by printed fabric panels hanging from the ceiling. Translucent motifs and ephemeral images of a natural space convey visual impressions and act as a filter that allows optical permeability in both directions while simultaneously shielding and protecting the space. The installation juxtaposes the temporally linear performance with a spatial interpretation that is present in its entirety and can be traversed along a freely chosen path.
This experience opens up the atmospheric space that is created in combination with the music, which is now perceived more intensely and in other qualities. A more conscious, expanded listening takes place.

What do we hear when we listen to Mozart?
What do we see when we listen to Mozart?

While listening, individual superimpositions of the music arise in the mind through images, associations and thoughts. The installation makes us aware of this aspect of listening to music in an abstract form. The combination with the visual, haptic, spatial experience is intended to induce a changed awareness of what is happening in the music, to listen more intensively.

Those who move see.

The perception of the work depends on the movement of the recipient, whether pausing or passing by. Exploring the music, one can “follow” what is heard in the installation, connecting to places, visual impressions and details within the installation.

The gaze can be directed to different sub-areas, each of which can be viewed as a layer of its own. For example, the lines of the individual instrumental voices, the timbre of the different instruments, the common harmonic structure, the dialogue between the instruments, the sequence of musical motifs, rhythmic patterns, but also larger-scale changes such as tension arcs, volume progression, sentence structure. On top of this, there is a layer of interpretation:
Playing sequences, agogic, articulation, expectations etc. and another layer consisting of associative images, memories that are triggered in the listeners.

al aria

Ein Projekt von Gertrud Fischbacher und Marius Schebella.

al aria

Sinfonie Nr. 17 G-Dur, KV 129
Idee und Konzept: Gertrud Fischbacher und Marius Schebella

 

Die Rauminstallation ist eine interdisziplinäre, interpretative Recherche zu Mozarts Sinfonie Nr. 17 G-Dur (KV 129).

Der Raum ist durch von der Decke hängende, bedruckte Stoffbahnen gegliedert. Transluzente Motive und ephemere Bilder eines Naturraums vermitteln visuelle Eindrücke und agieren als Filter, der in beiden Richtungen eine optische Durchlässigkeit erlaubt und gleichzeitig den Raum abschirmt und schützt. Die Installation stellt der zeitlich linear ablaufenden Aufführung eine räumliche Interpretation zur Seite, die in ihrer Gesamtheit präsent ist und auf einem frei gewählten Weg durchschritten werden kann.
Diese Erfahrung erschließt den atmosphärischen Raum der in Kombination mit der Musik entsteht die nun intensiver und in anderen Qualitäten wahrgenommen wird. Es kommt zu einem bewussteren, erweiterten Hören.

Was hören wir, wenn wir Mozart hören?
Was sehen wir, wenn wir Mozart hören?

Während des Hörens entstehen im Kopf individuelle Überlagerungen der Musik durch Bilder, Assoziationen und Gedanken. Die Installation macht diesen Aspekt des Musik-Hörens in einer abstrakten Form bewusst. Die Kombination mit der visuellen, haptischen, räumlichen Erfahrung soll zu einem veränderten Bewusstsein für das, was in der Musik passiert, zu einem intensiveren Hören verleiten.

Wer sich bewegt, sieht.

Die Wahrnehmung des Werks hängt von der Bewegung des Rezipienten ab, sei es im Innehalten oder der Passage, dem Vorbeigehen. Die Musik erkundend kann in der Installation dem Gehörten „nachgegangen“ werden, an Orte, visuelle Eindrücke und Details innerhalb der Installation anknüpfend.

Der Blick kann sich dabei auf verschiedene Teilbereiche richten, die man jeweils wie eine eigene Schicht betrachten kann. Z.B. die Linienführung der einzelnen Instrumentalstimmen, die Klangfarbe der unterschiedlichen Instrumente, die gemeinsame harmonische Struktur, der Dialog zwischen den Instrumenten, die Abfolge von musikalischen Motiven, rhythmische Muster, aber auch großräumigere Veränderungen, wie Spannungsbögen, Lautstärkeverlauf, Satzstruktur. Darüber legt sich noch eine Schicht der Interpretation:
Spiel-Abläufe, Agogik, Artikulation, Erwartungshaltungen etc. und eine weitere Schicht, die aus assoziativen Bildern, Erinnerungen besteht, die in den Zuhörern ausgelöst wird.