The colors of Salzburg

A project by Alrun Pacher.

The colors of Salzburg

Phantasia in C minor, KV 475
  • A project by: Alrun Pacher
  • Musical interpretation: Tzu-Yu Yang (fortepiano)
  • Implementation
    Concept & direction: Alrun Pacher
  • Assistance: Andreas Neubacher, Anna Hemetsberger
  • Artistic contributions: Class "Sound and Color", State Music School Bad Ischl (Upper Austrian State Music School)
  • Sound recording: Digital Media Department / Sascha Tekale
  • Sound design: Erik Stocker
  • Video montage: Andreas Steger
  • Scientific supervision: Michaela Schwarzbauer

Establishing a similarity relationship between the harmony sequences in W. A. Mozart’s C minor Phantasia (KV 475) and the color chords of Salzburg is the starting point and program of the artistic-scientific cooperation project, the selected students of the Mozarteum University Salzburg and young people as well as adults in the “Sound and Color” class of the Bad Ischl State Music School.

Based on the thesis that the formation of analogies in the visualization of the impressions evoked by the encounter with Mozart’s music can deepen and refine perception, a short film on Mozart’s Phantasia will be created.

The basis is artistically processed photos of the students, who received additional inspiration from Georg Trakl’s color-poetic view of Salzburg and Marina Abramović’s transcendent homage to Mozart with reference to heaven.

Die Farben von Salzburg

Ein Projekt von Alrun Pacher.

Die Farben von Salzburg

c-Moll Phantasia, KV 475
  • Ein Projekt von: Alrun Pacher
  • Musikalische Interpretation: Tzu-Yu Yang (Hammerflügel)
  • Umsetzung
    Konzept & Leitung: Alrun Pacher
  • Assistenz: Andreas Neubacher Anna Hemetsberger
  • Künstlerische Beiträge: Klasse "Klang und Farbe", Landesmusikschule Bad Ischl (Oberösterreichisches Landesmusikschulwerk)
  • Wissenschaftliche Betreuung: Michaela Schwarzbauer

Eine Ähnlichkeitsbeziehung zwischen den Harmoniefolgen in W. A. Mozarts c-Moll Phantasia (KV 475) und den Farbakkorden von Salzburg herzustellen ist Ausgangspunkt und Programm des künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Kooperationsprojektes, das ausgewählte Studierende der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg und Jugendliche sowie Erwachsene der Klasse „Klang und Farbe“ der Landesmusikschule Bad Ischl zusammenführt.

Gestützt auf die These, dass Analogiebildung in der Visualisierung der durch die Begegnung mit Mozarts Musik wachgerufenen Eindrücke Wahrnehmung vertiefen und verfeinern kann, wird ein Kurzfilm zu Mozarts Phantasia entstehen.

Als Grundlage dienen künstlerisch bearbeitete Fotos der Schüler*innen, die durch Georg Trakls farb-poetische Sicht auf Salzburg und Marina Abramovićs transzendierende Hommage an Mozart mit Himmel-Bezug eine zusätzliche Inspiration erfuhren.