Fulldome / VR & AR Lab

Platform of the University of Applied Arts Vienna.

Fulldome / VR & AR Lab

  • Director of Fulldome / VR & AR Lab: Martin Kusch Department of Digital Arts (Head: Ruth Schnell), University of Applied Arts Vienna

The Fulldome / VR & AR Lab of the Department of Digital Arts is a platform for new creative processes, focusing on digital applications for Fulldome, VR  and AR environments. Interdisciplinary exchange between students, lecturers and researchers leads to experimental research projects that are carried out with the aim of developing new cultural formats and scrutinising the influence of immersive technologies.

These media environments blur the boundaries between the physical and the virtual world, enabling the user to experience  a sense of immersion. They have become increasingly pervasive and influential in our everyday life. Questions and experiments dealing with holistic audiovisual spatial experiences and topics decisive for the future development of our society are focal points of the research laboratory.

Since the inauguration of the Fulldome / VR & AR Lab, students, lecturers and researchers with various backgrounds have benefited from the interdisciplinary exchange and knowledge-sharing around these new methods of capturing, synthesising and re-visualising our world.

Applications:

  • Development of new artistic formats in the field of immersion
  • Research into new narrative image and audio concepts
  • New concepts and formats in the fields of virtual reality, interactivity, artificial intelligence, gaming, online communities and social networks
  • Interdisciplinary platform for new creative processes
  • Interactive, 360˚ virtual walk-through to produce a new quality of physical experience
  • Research and practical experiments in perceptual research

Fulldome / VR & AR Lab

Plattform der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien.

Fulldome / VR & AR Lab

  • Direktor Fulldome / VR & AR Lab: Martin Kusch , Abteilung Digitale Kunst (Leitung: Ruth Schnell), Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

Das Fulldome / VR & AR Lab der Abteilung für Digitale Kunst der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien ist eine Plattform für neue kreative Prozesse mit Schwerpunkt auf digitalen Anwendungen für Fulldome-, VR- und AR-Umgebungen. Im interdisziplinären Austausch zwischen Studierenden, Lehrenden und Forschern werden experimentelle Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt, die an der Entwicklung neuer künstlerischer Grammatiken arbeiten und dabei den Einfluss immersiver Technologien hinterfragen.

Diese Medienumgebungen verwischen die Grenze zwischen physischer und virtueller Welt und ermöglichen es den Benutzern, ein Gefühl des Eintauchens zu erleben. Sie sind in unserem täglichen Leben zunehmend allgegenwärtig und einflussreich geworden. Fragen und Experimente zu ganzheitlichen audiovisuellen Raumerlebnissen und zu Themen, die für die zukünftige Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft entscheidend sind, stehen im Mittelpunkt des Forschungslabors.

Seit der Einweihung des Fulldome / VR & AR Lab profitieren Studenten, Lehrende und Forschende aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen vom interdisziplinären Austausch und der Wissensvermittlung rund um diese neuen Methoden zur Erfassung, Synthese und Neuinterpretation unserer Welt.

Anwendungen:

  • Entwicklung neuer künstlerischer Grammatiken im Bereich der Immersion
  • Erforschung neuer narrativer Bild- und Tonkonzepte
  • Neue Konzepte und Formate in den Bereichen virtueller Realität, Interaktivität, künstlicher Intelligenz, Games, Online-Gemeinschaften und sozialer Netzwerke
  • Interdisziplinäre Plattform für neue kreative Prozesse
  • Interaktiver, virtueller 360˚-Rundgang zur Erzeugung einer neuen Qualität der physischen Erfahrung
  • Forschung und praktische Experimente in der Wahrnehmungsforschung