Lost in dimensions

A film by Róza Radnóti.

Lost in dimensions

Piano Sonata in C-major, K 545
  • A film by: Róza Radnóti
  • Musical interpretation: Róza Radnóti
  • Production
    Directed: Róza Radnóti
  • Choreography: Rita Góbi
  • In collaboration with: Thomas Ballhausen

There are several examples when a piece of music is used very well as a soundtrack. However, there are much less examples when a musical piece works as the basis of a film; when the musical content and dramaturgy determines the visual actions.

The film of pianist Róza Radnóti makes an attempt to find visually expressible happenings in the music and aims to bring an intense and complex experience to the audience by finding an abstract, not storytelling visual interpretation to the second movement of the Piano Sonata in C-major (K 545) by Mozart.

The visual choreography might help the audience to ‘see’ the music that makes them dive into their inner universe, their inner dimensions. The whole video can be a diversely understandable metaphor that each individual viewer can interpret according to their own life experience and personality.

Lost in dimensions

Ein Film von Róza Radnóti.

Lost in dimensions

Klaviersonate in C-Dur, KV 545
  • Ein Film von: Róza Radnóti
  • Musikalische Interpretation: Róza Radnóti
  • Produktion
    Regie: Róza Radnóti
  • Choreografie: Rita Góbi
  • In Zusammenarbeit mit: Thomas Ballhausen

Es gibt viele Beispiele, in denen ein Musikstück als Soundtrack eingesetzt wird. Aber es gibt nur wenige, in denen ein Musikstück als Grundlage eines Films fungiert und der musikalische Inhalt sowie die Dramaturgie die visuelle Handlung bestimmen.

Der Film LOST IN DIMENSIONS der Pianistin Róza Radnóti unternimmt den Versuch, visuell ausdrückbare Ereignisse in der Musik zu finden. Er zielt darauf ab, dem Publikum ein intensives und komplexes Erlebnis zu vermitteln, indem er den zweiten Satz der Klaviersonate in C-Dur (KV 545) auf abstrakte, nicht erzählende Weise interpretiert.

Die visuelle Interpretation soll dem Publikum das „Sehen“ der Musik ermöglichen, soll es eintauchen lassen in das innere Universum und die verborgenen Dimensionen. Die filmische Umsetzung kann als vielfältig verständliche Metapher gesehen werden, die jedes Individuum entsprechend der eigenen Lebenserfahrung und Persönlichkeit unterschiedlich interpretieren kann.